Back to Course

300Hrs Yoga Teacher Training

0% Complete
15/452 Steps
Lesson 12 of 452
In Progress

Video Submissions

If for any reason you would need or like to share a video with your mentor or fellow students, follow these instructions for the best results! Text and photos can be messaged directly to the groups or the mentor after you have joined them/ added them to your connections.

The video content will have to be uploaded to YouTube (if you don’t want anyone else to see these videos, we recommend choosing “unlisted” video setting). With the video uploaded, copy its shareable link and send it to your assigned trainer (don’t forget you need to have them in your connections).

Video submissions

To make the videos as clear as possible:

  • Make sure to place the mat in front of the camera in a diagonal angle, front facing forward. Your alignment should be visible, hands and feet should not leave the camera view either in upward- or sideways-extended poses.
  • Make sure your voice is clear and well audible
  • If you want to demonstrate adjustments, but do not have anyone to teach, you will need to pretend and do a little bit of acting, showing that you have the required teaching skill

Using YouTube

To create an account on YouTube, you will first need a Google account. If you have Gmail, skip this step, as it serves as a Google accounts. If not, follow the steps in this video:

To create a YouTube account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to YouTube.
  2. In the top right, click Sign in.
  3. Click Create Account.
  4. Choose For myself or To manage my business.

Once you’ve signed in to YouTube with your Google Account, you can create a YouTube channel on your account. YouTube channels let you upload videos, leave comments, and create playlists. 

Verifying your account

When your videos are longer (such as you might expect to produce in this course), you are required to verify your channel, you’ll be asked to enter a phone number. YouTube will send a verification code by text or voice call to that phone number.

Once you’ve verified your account, you can:

You may also be asked to verify your account when you sign up. How to verify your account on YouTube

Uploading and video privacy

What does unlisted mean on YouTube?

An unlisted YouTube video can be viewed by people who have the video link. It will not appear in public places, such as search results, your channel, or subscriber feeds. However, YouTube unlisted videos will appear publicly if shared in playlists or embedded on a website.

Why use unlisted YouTube videos?

  • Sharing videos with friends and family
  • When you have a webinar or other video content you want to share
  • At times, you want to clean up your YouTube page and get rid of old videos, but still want access for people who embedded the video
  • Getting video feedback from co-workers (in this case, your teacher)
  • Online resumes and portfolios to share during job applications

How To Upload an Unlisted Video to YouTube

  1. Log in to YouTube account.
  2. Click to upload the video button.
  3. Select Unlisted from the drop-down.
  4. Fill Title, Description, and Tag detail.
  5. Click the Publish button.

Change video privacy settings

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the left menu, select Videos.
  3. Hover over the video you’d like to update. To see your live uploads, select the Live tab.
  4. Click the down arrow under “Visibility” and choose PublicPrivate, or Unlisted.
  5. Save.

If you expect to mostly be uploading videos only to share with your trainer, set the default video upload setting to “unlisted”. This will ensure you do not accidentally upload a public video.

Choose default upload settings:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the left menu, select Settings.
  3. Select Upload defaults.
  4. Choose your default settings in the Basic info and Advanced settings tabs.
  5. Select Save.

Default upload settings only affect videos uploaded through your web browser on youtube.com/upload. If you upload videos through mobile, Hangout On Air, or video editor, they won’t respect your default settings.

Child protection

YouTube algorithm is protecting the safety of young audiences by asking you to confirm whether the video is made for children or not. This means videos that specifically target the children. In your case the video is not created specifically for children, so you will choose accordingly. You can select the setting every time you upload a video or set your channel’s default audience setting:

  1. Sign in to studio.youtube.com.
  2. On the left menu, click Settings.
  3. Click Channel.
  4. Click the Advanced Settings tab. 
  5. Under Audience, select:
    1. “Yes, set this channel as made for kids. I always upload content that’s made for kids.” 
    2. “No, set this channel as not made for kids. I never upload content that’s made for kids.”
    3. “I want to review this setting for every video.” 
  6. Click Save.

Sharing a private video

Unlisted videos and playlists can be seen and shared by anyone with the link. Your unlisted videos won’t appear to others who visit the “Videos” tab of your channel page. They won’t show up in YouTube’s search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist.

You can share an unlisted video’s URL with other people. The people you share the video with don’t need a Google Account to see the video. Anyone with the link can also re-share it. 

Why does YouTube ask for my phone number?

YouTube takes spam and abuse seriously. Using phone numbers to verify identity is one way to protect YouTube’s community and combat abuse.

They use the phone number to send you a verification code. They also make sure the phone number is not being used on a large number of accounts.

Note: YouTube does not sell your personal info to anyone.